Universal Laws [dhammaniyaama]

1. Physical Laws [utuniyaama] are natural laws which cover the manifestation of all non-living things, such as, the occurrence of thunder and lightning. The arising and falling away of this world even follow these natural laws. Western Buddhist textbooks tend to say that the Ancient Indians had no idea what caused the patterns in Nature but Buddhism attributed these patterns to physical laws.

2. Biological Laws [biijaniyaama] are natural laws which are particular to animate objects like plants or animals. These natural laws dictate that when we plant a rice seed it grows into a rice plant. The offspring an elephant gives birth to must be a baby elephant. Buddhism attributes this predictability to biological laws.

3. Psychological Laws [cittaniyaama] are natural laws which deal with the mechanisms of how the mind works. Buddhism believes that people are made up of two main parts: namely body and mind. The mind is composed of the system which allows us to work, change and act in a way which is individual to each person. Buddhism attributes such dynamics to psychological laws.

4. Karmic Laws [kammaniyaama]: are laws concerning how karma gives its effects. Karma refers to intentional actions. The virtue of the intention behind the act divides karma into two types: good karma and bad karma. Good karma is reciprocated with positive fruits. Bad karma is reciprocated with negative retribution. This type of law is also referred to as the Law of Karma.

5. Universal Laws [dhammaniyaama]: are natural laws that deal with cause and effect where they concern the mental and physical phenomena. This law has the broadest definition and is an umbrella for all the four types of laws already mentioned.

About Amanda Shelton

I write, and I do digital art. My life is never too boring, I think too much for my life to be nothing but interesting. I always put myself into my writing, so if you want to know how I think then just read my poetry, and short stories. Also I am brutally honest, and I love everyone unconditionally. No one is a stranger to me, I will treat you like I treat everyone else, like family.
This entry was posted in For The Blogger In All Of Us. Bookmark the permalink.

Comment

