Woman offers inside look at nerve disorder, recovery [This is my story]

I had to share this.

If  I can go through brain surgery you can only imagine what you can do.

Like The Little Engine that Could.  I think I can I think I can and he did.

 

In the first part of the video they said my last name wrong but I don’t care plus the news crew were awesome.

http://www.bakersfieldnow.com

 

The link to the video http://www.bakersfieldnow.com/news/investigations/85438587.html?tab=video&c=y

BAKERSFIELD, Calif. — Amanda Shelton has suffered from Dystonia, a severe nerve disorder similar to Parkinson’s disease, for years.

It’s affected her ability to walk, talk and write during her high school through her young adult life.

“It was like somebody beating me up like 10 times over,” Shelton said.

In January, Eyewitness News followed Shelton on her journey to Long Beach Memorial Hospital in Southern California. Neurosurgeon Barry Ceveran led the operation, which installed electrodes deep into Shelton’s brain. Radio waves were used to make sure electrodes were dropped to the proper depth.

While Shelton was in surgery, her family sat hopeful, but uncertain.

“I hope to the Lord, I just pray that he gives her a life of her own,” said Shelton’s father, Norm.

After the surgery, Shelton was on her way home to recover. It would be weeks before she would know her results.

In early February, Eyewitness News caught up with Shelton and the results were remarkable.

“I can clap my hands,” Shelton said

With her nerve troubles behind her, she said she wants to now give back to others who suffer from similar illnesses.

 

Note from me:  Hello readers know this surgery was not a cure they are far from finding one, but it has help me in the long run. I am able to live on my own take care of my cat Sassy [Nanny Pooh] Shelton and plus have a great and healthy relationship with my love Sean. Be proud of yourself because you have the ability to read this and even get online. Some people can’t even blink their eyes, walk. or even ride a bike.

 

~ Personality101  o_O*

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Amanda Shelton

I write, and I do digital art. My life is never too boring, I think too much for my life to be nothing but interesting. I always put myself into my writing, so if you want to know how I think then just read my poetry, and short stories. Also I am brutally honest, and I love everyone unconditionally. No one is a stranger to me, I will treat you like I treat everyone else, like family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comment

